Fruit Extracts: Although fruit extracts, such as grapes, berries, oranges, apples, and coconuts can be destroyed during the processing of beer and other alcoholic beverages, any residues can cause an allergic reaction.
Wheat and gluten: Some beers contain wheat and gluten, a protein found in barley.
Hops: Some people may be sensitive to hops, an ingredient that gives beer a bitter taste. They may experience a runny nose, swollen eyelids, skin rashes, and asthma.
Malt Barley: An allergic reaction to barley is common in people who are sensitive to pollen, which causes a tingling sensation on the face, hives, swelling of the tongue and lips, dizziness, cough, and chest discomfort.
Yeast: Sensitization to yeast is rare, but some people can react to fungal spores found in wine corks.
Risk of beer allergy
What factors increase the risk of beer allergy? You are more likely to develop allergies if you have a family history of allergies, and a personal and family history of asthma.
Food allergies are a serious problem. Therefore, you must be very careful when reading labels and choosing foods and beverages.
In the most severe cases, a food or drink allergy can lead to anaphylaxis. Symptoms may include hives, wheezing, and chest pain. If you have any of these symptoms, go to the emergency room right away because anaphylaxis is a life-threatening condition.
Diagnosis and Treatment of Beer Allergy
The information provided is not a substitute for medical professional advice. Always consult your doctor.
What methods help diagnose beer allergy?